Minutes of AGM 2016 and Agenda for 2017 AGM


Would all members please take note that the A.G.M. of the Society will be held on

Monday the 13th of March 2017 at the BNZ premises in Tongariro Street, Taupō commencing at 6.00 p.m.


The Agenda for the meeting is as follows:

1)  Chairperson’s opening remarks;

2)  Apologies for absence;

3)  Minutes of the last A.G.M. and any matters arising;

4)  Chairperson’s Report;

5)  Treasurer’s Report;

6)  Annual membership fees

7)  Election of Chair

8)  Election of Executive Committee Members;

9)  Track report – Pete Masters

10) Kids Bike Taupo – Cath Oldfield

11) Guest Speaker

Meeting Close

Executive committee members are elected for a term of 2 years.

The Executive committee currently comprises 8 people including the Chairperson.

● Darryn Anderson is retiring and does not seek re-election.

● Rowan Sapsford, Paul Davey and Julie Norris are also retiring; however they have offered themselves for re-election.


Nominations for the Executive Committee do not have to be made in advance of the meeting. However it would be helpful if anyone wishing to stand would contact the Chairperson (Rowan Sapsford –This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. ) prior to the meeting.


6) Annual Membership Subscription

The timing and cost of annual membership subscriptions to be as follows

Valid 1st December 2017 - 31st December 2018

● Family membership $80 per year (families with children under 18 years)

● Individual adult membership (18 years and over) $60 per year

● Individual youth membership (5-17 years) $20 per year

● Preschoolers free


For those members that join the Taupō MTB Club (as well as Bike Taupō) $15 of the adult Bike Taupō subscription and $20 of the family Bike Taupō subscription will go to the Taupō MTB Club.


All annual Memberships received online will receive a $10 discount on all memberships ($70 Family, $50 Individual and $10 for youth).


● Visitor Membership - Valid for a seven day period and costs $10 per person

The timing and cost of spring membership subscriptions to be as follows

8) Closing Remarks

9) Operations reports


After the formal meeting Pete Masters will report on the current situation of our bike tracks and Cath Oldfield will provide an update on Kids Bike Taupō.


Quest speaker will then be followed by refreshments.


Please send apologies to Mark Gibson (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.)



Bike Taupo Advocacy Group Inc.

MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING held on Monday 11 April 2016

at BNZ premises, Tongariro Street, Taupo



Grant Hill, Julie Norris, Lynette Braithwaite, Pete Masters, Jo Donaldson, Crunchie Donaldson, Pete McFarlane, Clyff Harrington, Rowan Sapsford, Chas Hutton, Karyn Hutton, Emma Hutton, Len Malcolm, Susan Watson, Graham Level, Paul Wilson, Steve Currie, Marion Ross, Anna Kirk, Bruce Jaine, Dennis Hancock


Herwi Scheltus, Errol Cudby, Hendon Gillies, Nigel Tipene, Mark Gibson, Alan Vane, Sue Jolly and Paul Davey

Minutes of Previous AGM:

The Minutes of the previous AGM (held on 11/04/2015) were adopted.

Chairperson’s Report:

Rowan Sapsford presented a comprehensive report on the year’s activities and highlights (attached).

Treasurer’s Report:

Jo Connell from Strettons (our Accountants) presented the Treasurer’s Report and Financial Statements for the year ended 30/9/2015. This Report was adopted by the Meeting.

Moved: Karyn Hutton, seconded P. Masters.

Passed Unanimously

Election of Executive Committee Members:

One-half of the Executive Committee is required to retire each year. Pam Anderson and Mark Gibson retired this year.

Mark Gibson offered himself for re-election.

His nomination was unanimously approved and accordingly the Executive Committee for 2016/17 year will be:                                                       

Rowan Sapsford (Chair), Ian Jensen, Julie Norris, Mark Gibson, Paul Davey, Karyn Hutton and Darryn Anderson.

Constitutional Amendments

The following amendment to section 7.3 of the constitution was proposed:

“At the Annual general Meeting, the Chairperson shall present a report of the Group’s activities over the previous year and the Treasurer shall present a statement of the Group’s accounts for the year ending 30 September, duly reviewed in accordance with Rule 9.3.”

The current wording of Section 9.3 of the Constitution was proposed to be removed and replaced with the following:

“a) the executive committee will discuss at least once a calendar year the need to undertake an Assurance Engagement

b) an Assurance Engagement will be undertaken once every three years

c) an Assurance Engagement will be undertaken if there is an obligation for such a review

Moved: P Manning, seconded J Norris

After due discussion, both sets of amendments were passed unanimously

Membership Fees

The following changes to the annual membership fees were proposed:


1 Jan 2016 – 31 Dec 2016

1 Jan 2017 – 31 Dec 2017

Family (parents and children)



Individual Adult (18 years and over)



Individual Youth






Visitor (7 days)






1 Sept 2016 – 31 Dec 2016

1 Sept 2017 – 31 Dec 2017

Family (parents and children)



Individual Adult (18 years and over)



Individual Youth







Moved: I Jensen, seconded P Masters

The revised fees were passed by vote with 21 for and 1 against

Track Crew Report

Peter Masters and Chad Hooten presented on the work which the track crew had been undertaking over the past 12 months

Kids Bike Taupo

Cath Oldfield presented on the success of the Kids Bike Taupō programme over the past 12 months

General Business:

Dennis Hancock raised a query on the status of the shared trail adjacent to the ETA. The trail is currently maintained by TDC. Anna Park was to discuss further with the council roading team.

The Meeting closed at 6:45 pm 

© Bike Taupo Advocacy Group Incorporated 2018.

Proudly NZ Owned and Operated

Built by Expand IT Ltd